Day 6/21

Today, April Fool’s

I am grateful for…

  1. excellent journalism
  2. sunshine on hard wood floors
  3. being able to delete social media

3) This one might seem strange, but this link is from one of my favorite Youtubers: Nerdwriter. “The Right to be Forgotten”

I feel that way very strongly. The right to be forgotten, not just a single instance, but an entire life, particularly when it comes to people after their deaths. We have a right to be forgotten. Look at the Marquis de Sade:

Here was a man who was accused of some of the most horrific sexual abuse of any era. The truth is almost impossible to divorce from the myth of the historical man, but what almost everyone agrees is that he

  1. hated the Christian church
  2. had a fascination with sexual intercourse
  3. was non-discriminating with his partners with regards to body type and gender
  4. was probably a coprophiliac (don’t look it up)

Regardless, he is responsible for some of the most widely contested literature of all time including his 120 days of sodom, which systematically examines the sexual abuse that can happen to a person, Justine, an infamous novel about the rape and murder of a young woman, etc.

Some of the charges leveled against him included kidnapping female servants and keeping them as sexual playthings, sodomizing himself or them with a cross, defecating or ejaculating on said crosses, and on and on into the ludicrous like summoning devils and so on.

The point is, such a controversial figure in history, with almost absolute certainty would be remembered for his deeds (whether real or imagined) had this to say in his last will & testament dated 1806:

The ditch once covered over, above it acorns shall be strewn, in order that the spot become green again, and the copse grown back thick over it, the traces of my grave may disappear from the face of the earth as I trust the memory of me shall fade out of the minds of all men save nevertheless for those few who in their goodness have loved me until the last and of whom I carry away a sweet remembrance with me to the grave.

It is my favorite passage from all his prose. Unarguably beautiful, almost lyrical in its poetry. The right to be forgotten. What a beautiful idea. Of course it didn’t work that way, his works went on being published, de Sade was spoken of with infamy for centuries.

The right to be forgotten.

When I was a kid, you couldn’t delete your Facebook, you could only deactivate it.That isn’t actually true, but it was convincing enough to my compatriots that none of us ever really tried.

I have deactivated my account in the past: I spent a very satisfying three months in college without, but my friend Sambo begged me to get back on the blue bandwagon and because I love him I did get back on.

I have not been very happy since. I don’t know that those are related, but to give an idea:

I think I got mad–not at Sam–but at how easy it was to get back on. It clarified how pointless it was: the deactivation process. You get off and then back on. So all those months that I spent in blissful ignorance without knowledge of how to get on were just that: ignorant. I could get back on any time I wanted. Instead, what I should have been doing/looking for was a way to delete my account.

 Well, I finally looked into deletion and I realized that you can actually delete your Facebook!!

It felt like breathing for the first time in a long time. I am going through all of my social medias and deleting them. It is very exciting to me. For me? I am excited.

I don’t need to spend any time on it and there is no chance to reclaim the whole thing.

That is just great.

Share the Love

